How does Italy classify its wine?

Ever wondered how Italy classifies its wine?

Here is a rundown on the labels (or lack of) that you can find around the neck of the bottle.

P.S Classifications are not an assurance of quality; they are more of a way to organise the wines in your mind:


1. Vdt (Vino da Tavola)

"Wine of the table" - any wine from anywhere in Italy from any grape and any combination of grapes. Mostly sold in bulk in sfuso *restaurant wine or blending wine HOWEVER there are some excellent VdT wines, sometimes the BEST in a producer's range are labelled VdT because they are made from grapes not allowed under DOC or IGT regulations.

2. IGT (Indicazione Geografica Tipica)

"Typical Geographical Indication" - created in 1992 to bring Italy’s wine industry under some form of classification like the rest of Europe. A middle ground between table wine and DOC. Indicates that a wine is from a particular geographical area.

3. DOC (Denominazione di Origine Controllata)

"Destination of origin" -  both a place-name and a production formula. It outlines not only where the grapes are grown but which grapes are to be used and how long some wines must be ages before release. Further, stipulates that a wine must be vinified in the same place where grapes are grown. Producers required to send samples to tasting committees each year.

4. DOCG (Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita)

"Destination of origin & guaranteed" - reserved for the most exceptional and historic wines in Italy. The extra G indicated that it is the highest, most rigidly controlled designation an Italian wine can carry.

P.S: Out of 74 zones of DOC(G) - Piemonte holds 17 of them. Out of 329 zones of DOC - Piedmont holds 42 of them!!

Bed red.JPG




P.S To book in your intimate style, Boutique Wine Tasting Experience in Langhe, Piedmont, head to contact us & inquire now to tailor your perfect, customized day.

Share on Social

Scarlet HuesComment